

Georgia Public Service Commission

244 Washington St S.W. Atlanta, Georgia 30334 Phone: 404-656-4501 Toll free: 800-282-5813

Contact: Bill Edge Phone 404-656-2316 www.psc.state.ga.us

For Immediate release NEWS RELEASE

1-10

Commissioner Lauren "Bubba" McDonald, Jr. Will Chair Georgia Public Service Commission for 2010

ATLANTA, January 5, 2010 – Commissioner Lauren "Bubba" McDonald, Jr. today begins a one-year term as Chairman of the Georgia Public Service Commission (Commission) for 2010, taking the gavel from outgoing Chairman Doug Everett. The Commission Chairmanship is rotated annually among the five Commission members based on Georgia law and Commission rules.

McDonald is serving his second tour on the Commission, having won election in November 2008 to a full six year term. He previously served on the Commission from 1998 to 2002. Commissioner McDonald's complete biography is on the Commission web site, www.psc.state.ga.us.

Chairman McDonald announced that Commissioner Stan Wise will serve as Vice-chairman and made the following committee assignments: Commissioner Stan Wise will chair the Energy Committee; Commissioner Robert Baker will chair the Telecommunications Committee; Commissioner Chuck Eaton will chair the Transportation Committee; Commissioner Everett will head the Facilities Protection Committee; and Commissioner McDonald, as Chairman, will head the Administrative Affairs Committee.

The five-member Commission is a constitutional body responsible for the regulation of electric, natural gas and telecommunications utilities and transportation companies operating inside Georgia.