

Contact: Bill Edge Phone 404-656-2316 www.psc.state.ga.us

Georgia Public Service Commission NEWS RELEASE

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Atlanta, Georgia 30334 Phone: 404-656-4501 Toll free: 800-282-5813 **32-08**

244 Washington St S.W.

PSC MODIFIES PROPOSED HOT WEATHER DISCONNECTION RULE; RESUBMITTED FOR COMMENT

ATLANTA, October 21, 2008—Today the Georgia Public Service Commission (Commission) amended a proposed rule prohibiting hot weather disconnections under certain conditions. This vote triggers a new round of comments under the Administrative Procedures Act. Under the APA, interested parties will have 30 days to comment on the amended proposal and the Commission will consider adoption of the proposed rule at its December 16, 2008 Administrative Session.

Under the proposed rule as amended, residential electric service could not be disconnected if, prior to 8:00 a.m. on the date of the scheduled disconnection, a National Weather Service Heat Advisory or Excessive Heat Warning is in effect for the county of the scheduled disconnection.

The Commission opened a docket on hot weather disconnections in August 2007 at the urging of Commissioner Angela Speir.

The Commission has had in place since 1979 rules prohibiting disconnections of residential electric service between November 15 and March 15 when the forecasted low temperature for a 24 hour period beginning at 8:00 A.M. on the date of the proposed disconnection is below 32 degrees. Commission rules also specify under what conditions residential electric service can be disconnected, such as nonpayment of bills.

More information on this issue can be found by accessing the Docket Search on the Commission's website, <u>www.psc.state.ga.us</u>, using Docket Number 25877.

###