

Georgia Public Service Commission

244 Washington St S.W. Atlanta, Georgia 30334 Phone: 404-656-4501 Toll free: 800-282-5813

For Immediate release

Contact: Bill Edge

Phone 404-656-2316

www.psc.state.ga.us

NEWS RELEASE

03-08

Commissioner Chuck Eaton Takes Helm as Chair of Georgia Public Service Commission

ATLANTA, January 15, 2008 – Commissioner Chuck Eaton today begins a one-year term as Chairman of the Georgia Public Service Commission (Commission) for 2008. The Commission Chairmanship is rotated annually among the five Commission members based on Georgia law and Commission rules.

Eaton is in the second year of his first six-year term on the Commission. He was first elected in December 2006 as one of only two statewide Republican candidates in the entire country to beat an incumbent during that election year. Commissioner Eaton's complete biography is on the Commission web site, <u>www.psc.state.ga.us</u>.

Chairman Eaton also announced that Commissioner Doug Everett will serve as vice-chairman. He also has made the following committee assignments: Commissioner Stan Wise will chair the Telecommunications Committee, Commissioner Robert B. Baker, Jr. will chair the Energy Committee, and Commissioner Doug Everett will chair the Transportation Committee. Commissioner Eaton, as Chairman, will head the Administrative Affairs Committee.

###