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PSC Approves Funds for Low-Income Heating Assistance;Lowers Rates for Institutional 
Telephone Calls 

     
Atlanta, November 2, 2004 —.The Georgia Public Service Commission (Commission) today  
unanimously approved the release of $3 million from the Universal Service Fund (USF) to give 
qualified low-income citizens and senior citizens in Georgia some relief from this winter’s expected 
high natural gas heating bills. Commissioner David Burgess,who sponsored the proposal, noted, 
“These funds will enable many Georgia families to keep the heat on this winter and pay those soaring 
natural gas bills.” Commissioner Stan Wise added,” The legislature was correct to give us this 
authority. We now have the opportunity to grow the system and help our senior citizens.” Today’s 
action means a total of $6.1 million is available from the USF this winter to provide relief to eligible 
low-income families and senior citizens. 
 
The Department of Human Resources (DHR) disburses the funds through Community Action Agencies 
across the state. Eligible households must meet federal poverty guidelines in order to receive the 
assistance.  For the first time, DHR will be able to use these funds to assist people already disconnected 
with paying deposits to get reconnected and staying connected to the natural gas system. 
 
Since 2001, the Commission has disbursed more than $21 million in assistance to low-income families 
and senior citizens to help pay winter natural gas bills. 
 
In other action, a majority of the Commission voted to reduce the rates charged for Institutional 
Telephone calls. The proposal calls for a 10 percent reduction in the intrastate long distance collect call 
rate but the reduction would be phased- in over a four-year period beginning July 1, 2005. The 
surcharge would drop 5 cents a year from the current $2.20 to $2.00 while the per minute rate would  
drop from 24 cents per minute to 19 cents per minute. For more information on this issue, enter Docket 
Number 18870 in the Commission’s docket search function. 
 

### 
 


