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  News Release   
     

Public Invited to Comment on Proposal to Revise Rules Concerning Natural Gas Marketer Late 
Fees 

     
May 12, 2004 (Atlanta, Georgia) - The Georgia Public Service Commission (Commission) invites the 
public to comment on a proposed notice of rulemaking concerning the late fees charged by natural gas 
marketers. The proposed rule would modify Commission Rule 515-7-6-.02(a) (10) by establishing a 
new minimum past due balance of $50 before marketers could assess a late fee on a customer’s 
account. All interested parties should submit written comments, data, views, arguments or any other 
relevant matters with the Commission’s Executive Secretary by 4 p.m. on June 7, 2004. Interested 
consumers can contact the Commission by email at gapsc@psc.state.ga.us, by fax at 404-463-6683, or 
by letter addressed to: 
 

Reece McAlister 
Executive Secretary 

Georgia Public Service Commission 
244 Washington Street, S.W. 

Atlanta, Georgia 30334 
 

Please make reference to “Docket Number 12720”.   Commission Staff has compiled the following late 
fee information for other utilities regulated by the Commission. 
 
 Minimum Past Due Amount of Late Fee 
Georgia Power >$100.00 1.5% 
Savannah Electric >$20.00 1.5% or $1.00 
Atmos Energy >$20.00 1.5% 
Telecommunication Carriers >$20.00 1.5% 

 
 
 
 

 
The proposed recommendation of a $50.00 minimum threshold is higher than the above companies, 
however, the law permits marketers to charge either $10.00 or 1.5%, whichever is greater, of the past 
due balance to a customer’s account.  If the past due amount is $25.00 and the marketers charge a 
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$10.00 late fee, the marketer could still be charging up to 40% of the past due balance or 480% Annual 
Percentage Rate.  See below.  The late fees for the companies mentioned above do not exceed 1.5% of 
the past due balance.  
 

Past Due   Late Fee  Percent of Past Due Months APR 
 $   11.00   $       10.00  90.91% 12 1090.91% 
 $   20.00   $       10.00  50.00% 12 600.00% 
 $   25.00   $       10.00  40.00% 12 480.00% 
 $   30.00   $       10.00  33.33% 12 400.00% 
 $   40.00   $       10.00  25.00% 12 300.00% 
 $   50.00   $       10.00  20.00% 12 240.00%  
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