

Contact: Bill Edge Phone 404-656-2316 Fax 404-656-3020 E-mail: bille@psc.state.ga.us

Georgia Public Service Commission

244 Washington St., S.W. Atlanta, Georgia 30334 Phone: 404-656-4501 Toll free: 800-282-5813

News Release

Commissioner Stan Wise Takes Over As President of National Utility Regulators Group

ATLANTA, August 1, 2003– Georgia Public Service Commissioner Stan Wise will become President of the National Association of Regulatory Utility Commissioners (NARUC) effective August 4, 2003. Wise takes over the top post at NARUC after current NARUC President David Svanda of the Michigan Public Service Commission stepped down. Commissioner Svanda's term has expired. Peter Lark, who was appointed by Michigan Governor Jennifer M. Granholm, is replacing him on the Michigan Public Service Commission.

Wise will preside over the association's Annual Convention here in Atlanta, November 16-19, 2003.

NARUC is a non-profit corporation found in 1889. Its members include the governmental agencies that are engaged in the regulation of utilities and carriers in the 50 states, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico and the Virgin Islands. NARUC's member agencies regulate telecommunications, energy, and water utilities. NARUC represents the interest of State public utility commissions before the three branches of the Federal government and the Independent federal agencies. Additionally, NARUC files briefs and pleadings before the U.S. Supreme Court and other Federal courts in support of State utility commission interests. NARUC also provides the Executive Branch with policy proposals and works with the Departments on the formulation of regulatory policies. NARUC works closely with the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission, FCC, the Nuclear Regulatory Commission, SEC, and the FTC to ensure that the State perspective is considered in their proceedings. The role of NARUC is becoming increasingly important as many issues involve Congress and the federal regulatory agencies.

Commissioner Wise is from Marietta, Georgia. He won re-election to his second six-year term on the Commission in November 2000. He served as Commission Chairman in 1997 and 1999.

###