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News Release 

 
Quarterly Georgia No Call List Registration Deadline Approaches 

 
ATLANTA, October 18, 2002 – November 1 is the cutoff day to register for the Georgia No Call 
List to be included on the updated list for the calendar quarter beginning January 1, 2003. To 
restrict telemarketing calls to your home, you can add your phone number to this No Call List for 
two years for $5.00. If you register by November 1, 2002 your home phone number will be on the 
January 2003 No Call List.  
 
Since becoming operational in 1999, the Georgia Public Service implemented Georgia No 
Call List has dramatically limited the number of telemarketing calls that can be placed to the 
homes of more than 350,000 residential subscribers. Currently, Georgia is one of 20 states 
with No Call laws in place limiting telemarketing calls. Five states have passed No Call 
legislation that will go into effect January 2003 and five others are considering similar 
legislation. Also, the Federal Trade Commission is considering a National No Call List to 
restrict telephone sales calls to residential homes. Over 3,300 telemarketers in 49 states and 
two foreign countries receive the Georgia no Call List each quarter.    
 
The Governor’s office of Consumer Affairs handles all No Call violations reported by Georgia 
residents. Over 120 companies across the country have paid fines for violations of No Call 
Legislation in 13 states. 
 
A Georgia resident may subscribe or receive additional information about the "No Call" list 
by calling the toll free number, 1-877-GANOCALL (1-877-426-6225).  Information and a 
subscription to the "No Call" list can be obtained through the Internet at www.ganocall.com. 
 
The Georgia Public Service Commission does no t authorize the telemarketing of the No Call 
List and does not require subscribers to divulge their Social Security numbers when applying 
for No Call registration. Consumers who receive calls telemarketing the No Call List should 
not give out credit card and Social Security numbers. 
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Georgia No Call List Facts: 
  
Who may register:  Any Georgia residential telephone customer. 
  
How to register:  Call 1-877-426-6225, visit the Web site at www.ganocall.com or consult 
the information section of your telephone directory. 
  
Cost: $5.00 per residential telephone number for a two-year registration. 
  
Current Distribution:  Over 3,300 telemarketers in 49 states, Canada and the Dominican 
Republic receive the Georgia No call residential phone numbers each quarter. 
  
Effective Date: The list is updated quarterly.  A resident must register by November 1 to 
appear on the December list distributed to telemarketers. 
  
Renewals: Every two years. The PSC will notify residents when the ir registration is about to 
expire. 
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