

## NEWS RELEASE GEORGIA PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: July 18, 2002

CONTACT: Bill Edge, Public Information Officer

MEDIA CONTACT ONLY: (404) 656-2316; EMAIL ADDRESS: BillE@psc.state.ga.us CONSUMER CONTACT: (404) 656-4501; 1-800-282-5813;gapsc@psc.state.ga.us

## **Quarterly Georgia No Call Registration Deadline Approaches**

ATLANTA – August 1 is the cutoff day to register for the Georgia No Call List to be included on the updated list for the calendar quarter beginning October 1, 2002. To restrict telemarketing calls to your home, you can add your phone number to this No Call List for two years for \$5.00. If you register by August 1, 2002 your home phone number will be on the September No Call List.

Since becoming operational in 1999, the Georgia Public Service implemented Georgia No Call List has dramatically limited the number of telemarketing calls that can be placed to the homes of 330,000 residential subscribers. Currently, Georgia is one of 20 states with No Call laws in place limiting telemarketing calls. Five states have passed No Call legislation that will go into effect January 2003 and five others are considering similar legislation. Also, the Federal Trade Commission is considering a National No Call List to restrict telephone sales calls to residential homes. Over 3,100 telemarketers in 49 states and two foreign countries receive the Georgia no Call List each quarter.

The Governor's office of Consumer Affairs handles all No Call violations reported by Georgia residents. Over 120 companies across the country have paid fines for violations of No Call Legislation in 13 states.

A Georgia resident may subscribe or receive additional information about the "No Call" list by calling the toll free number, 1-877-GANOCALL (1-877-426-6225). Information and a subscription to the "No Call" list can be obtained through the internet at <a href="https://www.ganocall.com">www.ganocall.com</a>.

The Georgia Public Service Commission does not authorize the telemarketing of the No Call List and does not require subscribers to divulge their Social Security numbers when applying for No Call registration. Consumers who receive calls telemarketing the No Call List should not give out credit card and Social Security numbers.

## **Georgia No Call List Facts:**

Who may register: Any Georgia residential telephone customer.

How to register: Call 1-877-426-6225, visit the Web site at <a href="www.ganocall.com">www.ganocall.com</a> or consult the information section of your telephone directory.

Cost:\$5.00 per residential telephone number for a two year registration.

Current Distribution: Over 3,100 telemarketers in 49 states, Canada and the Dominican Republic receive the Georgia No call residential phone numbers each quarter.

Effective Date: The list is updated quarterly. A resident must register by August 1 to appear on the September list distributed to telemarketers.

Renewals: Every two years. The PSC will notify residents when their registration is about to expire.

###