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PSC Takes Action On Two New Laws—HB 1003 and HB 1568 
 

ATLANTA – At its May 7, 2002, Administrative Session, the Georgia Public Service Commission 
took the first step to comply with the provisions of the recently enacted HB 1003, 
Telecommunications Equipment Distribution Program. The new law requires the Commission to 
establish, implement, administer and promote a program by March 31, 2003 to provide 
telecommunications equipment (primarily text telephones) to hearing or speech impaired Georgians 
whose income does not exceed 200% of the federal poverty level.  
 
Today, the Commission approved a staff request to increase the monthly Telecommunications 
Relay Service surcharge from $0.05 to $0.15 per telephone line effective August 1, 2002, or the first 
billing cycle thereafter, in order to implement this equipment distribution program.   
 
Through this program eligible individuals will be furnished with telephone equipment to access 
Georgia’s Telecommunications Relay Service, a statewide dual party relay service in place since 
1991. This service allows hearing and speech impaired persons to use the public telephone network 
to communicate with residential and business hearing and voice subscribers.  
 
The Georgia Council For The Hearing Impaired estimates that there are approximately 812,000 
Georgians with some level of hearing loss and about 1%, or about 8,000, who are profoundly deaf. 
The eligibility pool for the distribution of this equipment is somewhere in between these two 
numbers, subject to medical and financial eligibility screening. 
 
In a separate action, the Commissioners approved the issuance of proposed rules relating to Electric 
Membership Corporations’ (EMC) becoming certificated natural gas marketers. HB 1568, the 
Natural Gas Consumers’ Relief Act signed into law on April 25, removed legal restrictions that 
prevented EMCs from selling natural gas.  
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