GEORGIA DIG LAW

Why vou are receiving this letter?

You are receiving the attached information because our office
(The Georgia Public Service Commission/ Facilities Protection
Division) has been natified by a utility owner or operator that you
have damaged their facility and have been submitted as having
possibly violated one or more parts of the GA Dig Law.

What is the GA Dig Law (also known as The
Georgia Utility Facility Protection Act (GUFPA))?

The Georgia Utility Facility Protection Act (GUFPA), enacted by
the General Assembly in July 2000, provides for the protection
of the buried utility facility infrastructure within the State of
Georgia. Excavators using mechanized equipment are required
to call for a utility facility locate prior to excavating with
mechanized equipment or blasting. Upon receipt of a locate
request, each affected facility owner/operator must locate their
respective utility facilities. Violations of the GUFPA are subject
to a civil penalty of up to $10,000 each violations. For the full
version of the Act please \visit our website at
Www.psc.state.ga.us.

What is the GA Public Service Commission
Facilities Protection Division?

We are responsible for the enforcement of the GUFPA Act.

| have paid for the damages to the utility company,
why am | getting something from the PSC?

Damages paid for repairs to utility facilities are separate from the
civil penalties assessed for violation(s) of GA’'s Dig Law.
Although you may have paid for the damaged utility facility, you
are now being assessed a civil penalty for probable violation(s)
of the GA Dig Law.

How has an investigation been completed and |
was not contacted before now?”

Utility owner/operators are mandated by Commission Rule to
report ALL damages to their facilities. Utility owner/operators are
to conduct an investigation of the damage and any resulting
probable violation(s) prior to submitting the probable violation to
the PSC. PSC Staff Investigators will assign each case a
number and send out a Notice of Probable Violation (“NOPV”) to
the Respondent in order to 1) notify the Respondent of the
alleged probable violation(s) and 2) request a written response
and supporting documents that show a Respondent’s side of the
story.

| do NOT agree with the probable violation alleged
how do | tell my side?

Once you have reviewed the information included in this package
you have 30 days from the date listed on the letter to respond in
writing, to each alleged probable violation and to provide all
evidence you wish to submit in support thereof.

NOTICE OF PROBABLE VIOLATION

What are my response options?

There are several ways you can respond to the
probable violation:

= Send in a written statement by mail, fax, or email of
the events as you recall them. Send in any
pictures or other documentation you may have
along with witness statements if available. Use
the questionnaire attached to the NOPV packet as
a guide for your written statement.

= |f you agree with the investigation please sign and
date the attached consent agreement and mail or
fax it back to our office.

= Contact our office and speak with your investigator
(you must still submit your statement in writing).

What happens after | submit my response?

Your investigator will review your information along
with the information that was submitted by the utility
owner/operator and will determine/complete their
investigation based upon their findings and will contact
you either by mail, email, or phone call of their
conclusion.

What happens if the investigator still finds
me in violation after | have submitted my
response and | still do NOT agree?

You may request to appear before the GUFPAAC
(Georgia Utility Facility Protection Act Advisory
Committee). The GUFPAAC is comprised of approx 13
members of industry stakeholders and your peers who
will hear and make a recommendation on your case.

What happens if | do NOT respond at all?

After the 30 day response time has expired your case
will be set for a Rule NISI hearing on the Title 25
probable violations of the Dig Law. Your case will be
heard by a hearing officer who will issue a
recommended order on the merits of your case. If the
hearing officer finds that the probable violation(s) is(are)
supported by the evidence, an additional one-thousand
dollars will be added to the civil penalty initially
recommended by Staff. For Title 25 Rule Nisis, the civil
penalties cannot exceed $10,000.00 per violation.

How do | contact The
Service Commission?

Georgia Public

Our mailing address:

244 Washington Street, SW
Atlanta, GA 30334

Phone: 404-463-6526

Fax: 404-463-6532



